Samuel Ginn 1791-1813

Interested in joining the 1st Battalion? Want to know more about 95th (Rifle) Regiment of Foot? Want to discuss some interesting fact or historical reference relating to the Regiment? We welcome any information that will enhance our understanding and knowledge of this world-reknown regiment. Post your questions in here and we will endeavour to answer them.
sam ginn1
Whisperer

Samuel Ginn 1791-1813

Post by sam ginn1 »

Just dropped in to ask if you guys can help. I was a visitor at one of your events at Waltham Abbey some years ago.

I am researching the above guy. He is part of a study on the Ginn family of Hertfordshire that I have been working on for twenty years or more.

Sam was born in Thorley in Herts and joined the Hertfordshire Militia in 1808. When the Militia were at Ipswich in March 1809 he joined the 2nd Btn Rifles. In February 1810 he was one of the two companies of men (under the ill fated Cadoux) that marched with Benjamin Harris to Portsmouth to embark for the Peninsula, save that poor old Ben was still ill from Walcheren and dropped out.

Sam was at Barrossa in the two companies of the 2nd Btn that were present with some of the 3rd Btn and subsequently joined the 3rd Btn and marched up country. With the 3rd he was at Ciudad Rodrigo, Badajoz, Salamanca and Vittoria. He was wounded and subsequently died of his wounds at Vittoria (it amazed me that he lived that long, given the way his comrades were going down). I think he was likely wounded at the very start of the day when two battalions of the Rifles were engaged with French skirmishers at the bridge at Villodas.

What I am curious about is this - would we have any idea at all where he might be buried ? I read sometime ago that there is a memorial to the British war dead in Vittoria and that many victims of the battle are buried nearby.

Does anybody have any idea ? He had a lot of brothers and I have corresponded with descendants.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.